Redecorating the living room – Part 1: creating a moodboard

One of the main items on my summer to do list was to redecorate the living room.

The main problem in my living room is since it is a Northern facing room, the light that comes in the two large windows is a bluish or cooler temperature hue than a Southern facing room. Also, since I acquired my leather sofa, the dark green walls, the dark red fireplace and bookcase, and the black leather club chair are all too dark. If possible, I also want to avoid painting the ceiling which is currently a soft green.

This is the (poorly taken panoramic) before photo of the living room:

I envisage a number of projects for this room makeover, so I will break them up into separate posts, so the entire project won’t be too unwieldy.

I have been drooling over colors, pinning ideas to Pinterest,  and asking everyone from family, coworkers and Facebook friends to weigh in on their opinion. So to help consolidate all of these ideas into one package, I created a moodboard for inspiration.

Olioboards allows you to use their sample furniture, drapery and accessory photos, but I found it works best if you visit your favorite websites, like Pottery Barn, Restoration Hardware, Crate & Barrel, Ballard Designs, etc, to find furniture you already own, or stuff you would like to own. Download the image onto your computer and then upload it to your moodboard. For my living room moodboard, I even sampled the paint color and made an image of just the color in Photoshop, which allowed me to have the paint color in the background of the image. I am such a visual person I need to see the “walls” painted and the furniture and fabric painted as well.

I also uploaded photos of my curtains, rug and fireplace to match colors and accessories. Here is the final draft:

living room 2
The furniture, isn’t an exact match, but as an inspirational tool, creating a moodboard on Olioboard is really helpful. You can save it on their website, download the image, or share it on pages like Facebook and Pinterest.

For the next post, selecting the paint colors.

3 thoughts on “Redecorating the living room – Part 1: creating a moodboard

  1. Pingback: Redecorating the living room – Part 2: selecting the paint colors | CarrieTown

  2. Pingback: Redecorating the living room – Part 3: trash to treasure lamps and end tables | CarrieTown

  3. Pingback: Redecorating the Living Room – Part 4: Gallery Wall of Artwork | CarrieTown

Leave a Reply

