Sewing Themed Collage – Part 1

This is a little 8 1/2 x 10″ collage I created for my friend, D’s, birthday. Since D is a theatrical costume designer, I wanted to create a simple collage featuring ephemera relating to sewing & fabric. However, I wanted the colors to remain muted and neutral so it wouldn’t distract from the vibrant inspiration wall for the current theatrical production in D’s office.

I started with a stretched canvas on wood. I painted it a neutral brownish tan color roughly, showing brush strokes and some of the white underneath. I then decoupaged scrapbooking paper of a vintage fabric & millinery supply catalog. I do my painting & decoupaging while the canvas is sitting on an old text book, this acts as a drop cloth for paint & glue, and when the paper gets too gross, you can just turn the page to another brand new drop cloth.

To smooth the bubbles out, I use old gift cards. The small size is great, plus you can just toss it when it is too gluey.

I then started playing around with the layout of the other papers. I knew I wanted to incorporate pieces from a vintage sewing pattern, and for the other papers I chose them for their content, but also for their color. Since this piece would be muted, I wanted them all to be similar hue.

Once I was happy with the layout, I decopauged the pieces with Modge Podge. I waited for each piece to adhere before putting the next piece on.

The pattern piece was the most difficult to decoupage–it was so thin, it had a tendency to tear, but also developed bubbles. This is when the gift card smoother came in handy!

This post is taking forever for me to finish, so I will continue in a second post…

Leave a Reply

