Decopauged Vintage Suitcases

I have collected vintage Samsonite suitcases for as long as I have been trolling antique and thrift stores. I don’t know why exactly, but I rarely pass one up if I can pick it up for under $10. They are o.k. for storage, but there are much more efficient options out there. But it must be the lingering sense of adventure that accompanies old luggage. The far off song of the train whistle in the distance, oceanic voyages that take days…pretty much any old movie with travel appeals to me.

Looking for a way to incorporate the luggage with a craft project, I decided to decopauge one with vintage sheet music. The paper was so delightfully aged, and crumbly, it soaked up the Modge Podge beautifully. Here is is mid-project:

I cut the paper in half so the sheets would be easier to work with.

The project went so quickly, and the results we so beautiful, I decided to tackle the other pieces I had. Michael’s was clearancing out their 8 1/2 x 11″ scrapbooking paper, so I purchased those for cheap. I selected coordinating pieces and then tore them into manageable shapes. I wanted the effect to look shabby and quilted, so I was more random with the layout than I was with the musical suitcase.

I then trudged them all to the beautiful vintage train depot in town and photographed them. Avoiding all the high school seniors and wedding couples also utilizing the sunset lighting, I did some quick location shots to try to capture the sense of traveling in the past.

I still haven’t found a ‘use’ for them, other than decoration. But decor can be useful, if only to brighten the day.

One thought on “Decopauged Vintage Suitcases

Leave a Reply

