The Chaotic CarrieTown Studio – Reality Check

This post is the first in the Great CarrieTown Studio Cleanup Series of 2012:
 
I spend a lot of my free time browsing photos of slick, well organized craft spaces. I have even devoted an entire Pinterest board to this obsession. I dream of being able to waltz into my well-lit immaculate space, sit down, listen to classical music and finally create that masterpiece the world has been waiting for.

The reality is a little more cluttered. I am very lucky to have a craft space. I converted half of my two car garage into a sunny space where I can create my artwork and jewelry and any other messy project I may want to attempt. This year I added a DVR, and it is usually stocked with classic commercial free films and favorite TV shows. I even have a dedicated speaker station so I can plug in my iPad and listen to podcasts.

It is a very creative space, but lately I have been re-evaluating storage. I tend to forget about things unless I can see them in front of my face, which means that everything is visible. Want proof or the chaos, just check out these pics:

As you can see, chaos reigns over CarrieTown. The lower cabinets are filled with entire sets of plates used for Mosaics projects. Since I mostly work on paper crafts and jewelry, I would like to reduce the amount of mosaics supplies and utilize this space more efficiently for shop supplies, tools, and other items that need new homes.

This is the jewelry workspace. As you can see, most of the storage is on the surface, which limits the amount of space I have to work & create. I would also like to get rid of the clear drawers because they don’t work very well.

This is where I do most of my paper crafts…as you can obviously see. I need to find a new way to store all those little scraps of paper that can be used for future projects.

The desk from the back. I can’t believe I actually get any work done here. Wish me luck as I move forward with my organization project. The organization of CarrieTown is an ongoing project, but I thought I would start with the absolute messiest photos so the after pics would look more impressive. Mission Accomplished for messiest photos!

Leave a Reply

